Precision Neuroscience Conference

May 20 – 22, 2020

Hosted every two years, the Precision Neuroscience Conference fosters advancement in neuroscience-based precision medicine, including diagnosis and treatment.  

2020 Conference
2018 Conference (Oslo)

Who should attend?

  • Master’s and Ph.D. Students and Trainees

  • Physicians specializing in brain disorders

  • Neuroscience researchers

Proposed Speakers

Here is a list of proposed speakers that the Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC will invite to participate in the 2020 Precision Neuroscience Conference. 

Björklund, Ph.D., M.Sc.

Associate Professor of Neuroscience, Lund University

Learn more

Eggan, Ph.D.

Professor, Harvard University’s Dept. of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology

Learn more

Finkbeiner, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Taube/Koret Center for Neurodegenerative Disease Research at Gladstone; Investigator, Roddenberry Stem Cell Center; Professor, Neurology and Physiology, University of California

Learn more

Haydon, Ph.D.

Annetta and Gustav Grisard Professor of Neuroscience, Tufts University

Learn more

Hugdahl, Ph.D.

Professor at University of Bergen’s Dept. of Biological and Medical Psychology

Learn more

Maniatis, Ph.D.

Isidore S. Edelman Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics; PI, Zuckerman Institute at Columbia University

Learn more

Moser, Ph.D.

Professor of Neuroscience and Department Head, Kavli Institute for Neuroscience, Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Learn more

Nedergaard, M.D., D.M.Sc.

Professor and CO-Director, Department of Neurosurgery, Center for Translational Neuromedicine at the University of Copenhagen and University of Rochester Medical Center

Learn more

Ole Petter
Ottersen, M.D., Ph.D.

President, Karolinska Institute

Learn more

Ponsford, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychology, Monash University

Learn more

J. Paul
Taylor, M.D., Ph.D.

Chair, Cell and Molecular Biology Department; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Associate Director, Basic Research, Comprehensive Cancer Center; Edward F. Barry Endowed Chair in Cell and Molecular Biology at the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Learn more

Toft, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor II, Department of Neurology at the University of Oslo Institute of Clinical Medicine

Learn more

Wiesel, M.D., Ph.D.

President Emeritus, The Rockefeller University

Learn more

Conference & Accomodations

Hosted by the Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC, the 2020 Precision Neuroscience Conference will be held at the Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center in downtown Roanoke, Virginia. 

Conference Venue

The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center is a Tudor-style hotel that offers world-class lodging, a spa, and the region’s only AAA Four Diamond restaurant, The Regency Room. Built in downtown Roanoke in 1882, the hotel is steps away from the museums, public art, craft breweries, shops, and restaurants that make downtown Roanoke such a popular destination. 

  • Free shuttle service to and from the airport

  • Spa, pool, and fitness rooms

  • Business center

Traveling to Roanoke

Air service is provided to the Roanoke-Blacksburg Regional Airport (ROA) through a variety of international carriers, including Allegiant Air, American Airlines, Delta, United Airlines, and U.S. Airways. Direct flights are offered from Atlanta, Charlotte, Chicago, NYC, Philadelphia, St. Petersburg, Washington, and Orlando.

  • Daily service provided to and from D.C., Baltimore, Philadelphia, NYC, and Boston via Amtrak

  • Take the Blue Ridge Parkway for a scenic drive to Roanoke through the famous Blue Ridge Mountains (Pictured Right)

  • Interstate 81 connects Roanoke to the northeast corridor. U.S. 220 is a main route coming from North Carolina.

Blue Ridge Parkway Overlook

About Roanoke

Roanoke is a vibrant mountain city with 100,000 residents located in Southwest Virginia. Recently ranked one of the top mountain bike destinations in the world, Roanoke is an outdoor-lovers paradise offering hundreds of miles of hiking and cycling trails. 

City of Roanoke, Virginia

Organizing Committee Members

Michael J. Friedlander, Ph.D. Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC
Stephanie DeLuca, Ph.D. Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC
Tor Haugstad, M.D., Ph.D. Sunnaas Rehabilitation Hospital
Clive Bramham, Ph.D. University of Bergen
Jon Storm-Mathisen, M.D., Ph.D. University of Oslo
Hal Irvin, Ph.D. Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC
Pearl Chiu, Ph.D. Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC
Linda Hildegard Bergersen, Ph.D. University of Oslo, University of Copenhagen
Michael Fox, Ph.D. Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC

Join the Precision Neuroscience 2020 E-Mail List

* indicates required